(ANN ARBOR, Mich.) -- The popularity of gluten-free foods has increased over the years, filling supermarket shelves with ingredients such as rice flour and xanthan gum.
Now, instead of whipping up a gluten-free pizza at home or going to a gluten-free restaurant, those with a gluten sensitivity can enjoy a slice of Domino’s pizza that they had once removed from their diet.
The company’s new gluten-free crust is made from rice flour, potato starch, rice starch and olive oil. Domino’s worked with the National Foundation for Celiac Awareness to bring their standards to the company’s employees and kitchens.
“Offering Domino’s Gluten Free Crust is a big step for us, and we wanted to make sure we were doing it right,” Domino’s CEO J. Patrick Doyle said in a statement Monday.
“The prevalence of gluten sensitivity has become a real issue with significant impact on consumer choice, and we want to be a part of the solution,” he said.
Although the crust is gluten-free, the company only recommends that those with a mild gluten allergy enjoy the pizza. It doesn’t recommend the crust for those with Celiac disease because it can’t fully guarantee the product hasn’t come in contact with gluten.
The pizza costs $12 -- about $3 more than a regular pie. One slice of a 10-inch pepperoni pie has 170 calories, 3.5 grams of saturated fat and 410 milligrams of sodium.
Copyright 2012 ABC News Radio