« Joy Behar Leaving ABC's "The View" | Main | Kelly Osbourne Hospitalized After Fainting on 'Fashion Police' Set »

'American Idol' Reveals This Season's Top 10

Michael Becker / FOX(LAS VEGAS) -- This season's top 10 American Idol contestants were revealed Thursday night based on America's votes from Tuesday and Wednesday night's shows. They are Paul Jolley, Burnell Taylor, Curtis Finch, Jr., Devin Velez, Lazaro Arbos, Janelle Arthur, Candice Glover, Angie Miller, Amber Holcomb and Kree Harrison.

Thirty-nine million votes came in to determine this year's top 10. They have now secured a spot on American Idol's summer tour and will compete for the Idol crown over the coming weeks.

Each contestant sang a victory song as they made the top 10, starting with the top five guys. Paul kicked it off with Heart's "Alone," and Burnell was next, singing India.Arie's "Ready for Love." Curtis took the stage to sing "So High" by John Legend. Devin went the gospel route with "The Power of One (Change the World)" by Israel Houghton, and judge Nicki Minaj looked forward to hearing Devin mix English and Spanish-language performances on future shows. Lazaro had to quickly conference with the band before he went on stage to sing his original audition song, Simon & Garfunkel's "Bridge Over Troubled Water."

Tennessee native Janelle was the first girl on stage, and she chose Dierks Bentley's country hit "Home" for her victory song. R&B powerhouse Candice sang Mary J. Blige's version of Rose Royce's "I'm Going Down," and Angie's performance of Beyoncé's "I Was Here" left judge Keith Urban in tears. Amber was up next with Chaka Khan's "I'm Every Woman," and Kree closed out the night singing Susan Tedeschi's "Evidence."

American Idol's
top 10 returns Wednesday night to perform for America's vote live on Fox.

And, in a special twist, the show next week will have a sing-off between the guy and the girl who just missed the top ten.  Viewers will choose the winner, who will then get to join the top 10 on the American Idols Live summer tour.  At this point, we don't know who those contestants will be.

Copyright 2013 ABC News Radio

ABC News Radio