« Movie Review: 'Joyful Noise' | Main | Taylor Swift & Kelly Clarkson Announced as Grammy Performers »

‘Artist’ Wins, Judd Apatow Slams at 2012 Critics' Choice Awards

Kevin Winter/Getty Images(LOS ANGELES) -- The Artist took home the prize of the night at the Critics' Choice Awards, winning best drama of the year for the “love letter to American cinema,” as the team behind the French silent film put it in their acceptance speech.

It was also night of quips. After accepting the award for best comedy on behalf of Bridesmaids, Judd Apatow slammed Jerry Lewis, saying that the comedy he produced, in which Kristen Wiig served as star and co-writer, proved the veteran comedian wrong: “Jerry Lewis once said that he didn’t [think] women were funny. So I’d just like to say, with all respect, f*** you.”

George Clooney won best actor (The Descendants) and revealed that his mom made him a naugahyde leisure suit when he was in sixth grade. Patton Oswalt said he’d compensate for not winning best supporting actor (Young Adult) with lots and lots of scotch.

Here’s the full list of winners:

Best picture: The Artist

Best actor: George Clooney, The Descendants

Best actress: Viola Davis, The Help

Best supporting actress: Octavia Spencer, The Help

Best supporting actor: Christopher Plummer, Beginners

Best acting ensemble: The Help

Best director: Michel Hazanavicius, The Artist

Best comedy: Bridesmaids

Best animated film: Rango

Best foreign film: A Separation

Best young actor or actress: Thomas Horn, Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close

Best documentary feature: George Harrison: Living in the Material World

Best adapted screenplay: Moneyball, Steve Zaillian and Aaron Sorkin, story by Stan Chervin

Best original screenplay: Midnight in Paris, Woody Allen

Copyright 2012 ABC News Radio

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <code> <em> <i> <strike> <strong>

ABC News Radio