« Kerry Washington Helps "SNL" Spoof Its Lack of Diversity | Main | "Ender's Game" Wins Weekend Box Office »

Eminem, Macklemore & Ryan Lewis, Taylor Swift Win at First-Ever YouTube Music Awards

Dave J Hogan/Getty Images(NEW YORK) -- Eminem, Macklemore & Ryan Lewis, and Taylor Swift were among the winners Sunday night at the first-ever YouTube Music Awards, held at Pier 36 in New York City.

Em was named artist of the year, based on the total number of views, likes, shares, comments and subscribers he's received on YouTube in the past year. He was also on hand to close the show with a performance of his new song, "Rap God."

Macklemore & Ryan Lewis received the award for YouTube Breakthrough, as the act with the highest growth in views and subscribers over the past year.

Taylor Swift picked up the YouTube Phenomenon prize for inspiring the biggest number of fan responses.

The Video of the Year category was stacked with pop stars like Lady Gaga, Justin Bieber, Miley Cyrus, One Direction, PSY, and Macklemore & Ryan Lewis, but they all lost to the South Korean group Girls' Generation and their "I Got a Boy" clip.

Though she wasn't a winner, Gaga still made her mark on the ceremony by performing one of her new ARTPOP tracks, "Dope," live for the first time. In fact, she arrived on the red carpet with the same unusual look -- complete with grills -- that is seen in her recently-revealed artwork for "Dope."

Avicii; alternative rockers Arcade Fire; rappers M.I.A., Earl Sweatshirt and Tyler the Creator; and the band Walk Off the Earth were also on the bill.

Actor Jason Schwartzman and comedian/musician Reggie Watts hosted the event, which was streamed live on YouTube.

Here are the winners:

Video of the Year: Girls' Generation -- "I Got a Boy"

Artist of the Year: Eminem

Response of the Year: Lindsey Stirling and Pentatonix -- "Radioactive"

YouTube Phenomenon: Taylor Swift -- "I Knew You Were Trouble"

YouTube Breakthrough: Macklemore & Ryan Lewis

Innovation of the Year: DeStorm -- "See Me Standing"

Copyright 2013 ABC News Radio

ABC News Radio