« AMC Renews "The Walking Dead" for a Fifth Season | Main | Bob Barker to Appear on "The Price Is Right" for 90th Birthday »

First "X-Men: Days of Future Past" Trailer Hits the Web

iStock/Thinkstock(NEW YORK) -- After director Bryan Singer teased some of the footage last week, the first trailer for Fox's time-hopping X-Men: Days of Future Past hit the Internet Tuesday.

The trailer, which is over two minutes long, shows the mutant members of the X-Men and their one-time villainous counterparts led by Magneto, teaming up for survival in an apocalyptic future in which mutants are hunted.

Patrick Stewart's Professor Xavier is heard throughout the teaser instructing Hugh Jackman's Logan/Wolverine, who is psychically sent back in time to find the younger Xavier and convince him to change his ways to change the course of history and avoid a terrible future.

"I was a very different man," Xavier tells Logan.  "Lead me, guide me.  Be patient with me."

"Patience isn't my strongest suit," Logan quips in reply.

James McAvoy plays the younger Professor X, as he did in 2011's X-Men: First Class.  Ian McKellen reprises his role as Magneto in the future, while First Class co-star Michael Fassbender again plays Erik Lehnsherr, the man who becomes Magneto.

In the trailer to what's a sequel to that film, fans also see new cast member Evan Peters, who portrays Quicksilver, and are also introduced to four other new mutants -- Omar Sy's Bishop, Booboo Stewart's Warpath, Fan Bingbing's Blink and Adan Canto's Sunspot. Another First Class vet, Oscar winner Jennifer Lawrence, is seen reprising her role as blue-skinned copycat Mystique. 

The trailer also shows glimpses of Halle Berry's Storm, Ellen Page's Kitty Pryde/Shadowcat and Anna Paquin's Rogue, all alumna from earlier X-Men movies.

The trailer ends with the dramatic image of an older Xavier coming face to face with his younger self.

"Please…," Stewart's Xavier says to his younger self, "I need you to hope again."

X-Men: Days of Future Past hits theaters on May 23, 2014.

Copyright 2013 ABC News Radio

ABC News Radio