Entries in ACM (4)


Taylor Swift Can't Make Teen's Prom, Asks Him to the ACM Awards 

ABC/RICK ROWELL(NEW YORK) -- What's better than taking Taylor Swift to your prom?  Having her take you to the Academy of Country Music Awards.

Taylor has finally responded to Kevin McGuire, the 18-year-old New Jersey guy who's battling leukemia, and whose big sister launched a Facebook page urging the singer to go to prom with her brother.  More than 23,000 people have "liked" the Facebook page so far.   Now, in a posting on her own Facebook page, Taylor writes, "Kevin, I'm so sorry but I won't be able to make it to your prom.  But I was wondering, the ACM Awards are coming up ... would you be my date?  Love Taylor."  The ACM Awards are April 1 in Las Vegas.

McGuire's prom at Sterling High School in Somerdale, N.J. is June 1, which is also his birthday.

Copyright 2012 ABC News Radio


Reba, Garth and Taylor Among ACM Off-Camera Winners

Jordan Strauss/WireImage(NASHVILLE, Tenn.) -- The Academy of Country Music has announced the off-camera, special award winners for this year's ACM Awards. Show host Reba will be honored with the career achievement award, which recognizes a musical act that has advanced the popularity of country music in the preceding calendar year. Former winners in this category include Kenny Rogers, Faith Hill and Tim McGraw.

Taylor Swift is getting the Jim Reeves International Award, which goes to an artist promoting country music throughout the world. Dolly Parton, Keith Urban, Garth Brooks and Buck Owens have received this honor in the past. The overseas leg of Taylor's Speak Now tour closes out Wednesday in London.

Tim McGraw and Gwyneth Paltrow's movie Country Strong will receive the ACM's Tex Ritter Award, recognizing a movie that has used country music in a big way. Previous winners include Walk The Line, O Brother Where Art Thou? and Beer For My Horses. Garth Brooks and Larry Gatlin & The Gatlins are getting the Cliffie Stone Pioneer Award this year, honoring individuals who have paved the way for country music's continued success.

Tom T. Hall and Hank Cochran have been selected as this year's recipients of the Poet's Award. Tom wrote country classics like Jeannie C. Riley's "Harper Valley, P.T.A" and his own hits such as "Old Dogs, Children and Watermelon Wine." The late Hank Cochran penned the Patsy Cline staples "She's Got You" and "I Fall To Pieces," and the George Strait hits "The Chair" and "Ocean Front Property."

The winners in these categories will be recognized at the ACM honors event this fall at Nashville's Ryman Auditorium. The rest of the ACM winners will be announced live on the 46th Annual ACM Awards, broadcasting live on CBS Sunday night at 8 p.m. ET.

Copyright 2011 ABC News Radio


Eric Church, The Band Perry Take ACM Top Newcomer Categories

Photo Courtesy - Getty Images(NASHVILLE, Tenn.) -- Fans have voted Eric Church as the Academy of Country Music's Top New Solo Artist and The Band Perry as Top New Duo or Group.

The results were announced Friday, and the two acts will now go on to compete for the overall ACM Top New Artist award. That vote starts March 11 at and runs through the ACM Awards broadcast on CBS on Sunday, April 3.

Luke Bryan will present the trophies to The Band Perry and Eric Church at the CRS Music City Jam Wednesday night in Nashville.

Copyright 2011 ABC News Radio


Blake Shelton Joining Reba as Co-Host of the ACM Awards in April

Photo Courtesy - Michael Loccisano | WireImage(NEW YORK) -- Blake Shelton will join Reba McEntire as a co-host for the 46th Annual Academy of Country Music Awards coming up April 3. Reba has hosted the show for the past 12 years, but show producers got the idea to pair her with Blake when they announced the ACM nominees together last year.

Blake is known for his racy sense of humor on Twitter, but he's promised the ACM he'll be suitable for TV at the show. Blake tells USA Today, "They're a little worried, but I think that makes them excited at the same time." The 46th Annual ACM Awards will be handed out live on CBS on April 3. The nominees will be announced next month. 

Copyright 2011 ABC News Radio 

ABC News Radio