Entries in ACM Awards (5)


Taylor Swift Wins Entertainer of the Year at ACM Awards 

ABC/RICK ROWELL(LAS VEGAS) -- Lady Antebellum getting an award from KISS, in full makeup?  Ashton Kutcher singing a George Strait classic?  Toby Keith singing a duet with Carrot Top?  Bono introducing a number from “my friend, Dierks Bentley?”

No, it wasn’t some crazy dream — it was just another night at the Academy of Country Music Awards, held Sunday night in Las Vegas.

Taylor Swift took home her second straight Entertainer of the Year trophy, and for once, she didn’t make her famous “surprised face” — probably because co-host Blake Shelton made fun of it earlier in the evening. Accepting the award, Taylor gave a shout out to Kevin McGuire, the leukemia-stricken teen who was supposed to be her date for the show, but who had to be hospitalized and wasn’t able to make it.

“Kevin and all your family and friends, thank you for wanting to take me to the ACMs,” she said.  As for the award, she said, “I’m so happy about this!” and thanked her band and fans. Taylor is the second woman ever to win this award twice: the first was Carrie Underwood.

It was also a good night for country’s current power couple, Blake Shelton and Miranda Lambert. Miranda took home the Album of the Year trophy for her disc Four the Record, and it’s the third time she’s won that particular award.  The only other artists who’ve won it that many times are Alabama and George Strait.

“Seriously?” asked an unbelieving Miranda when she got onstage. “I’m so thrilled. I will never take this trophy for granted. My albums are my babies. It’s what makes me wake up in the mornings.”  Miranda also once again picked up the award for Female Vocalist, and while accepting that honor, she said, “I really am so humbled; I don’t know what to say.”  She added, “Thank you, Jesus, for giving me this gift I can share will all my fans.” Hoisting the trophy, she declared, “I’m so proud of country music and I love us all.  We deserve this!”

Blake, meanwhile, was named Male Vocalist of the Year. Noting that he’d been thinking of the lyrics of Dierks Bentley’s song Home, he added, “It’s been a long hard ride, and got a ways to go, and that’s still how I feel man, but I’m proud to take this home tonight.”

Kenny Chesney was the leading nominee going into Sunday night’s show, with a whopping nine nods, but he went home empty-handed.  Still, Kenny got his moment in the spotlight: he and Tim McGraw, his partner on the upcoming Brothers of the Sun summer tour, debuted their new collaboration Feel Like a Rock Star, the first single from Kenny’s upcoming album Welcome to the Fishbowl.

The much-hyped live wedding between real-life couple Christina Davidson and Frank Tucci took place onstage as planned, with the two saying their vows in the background, while Martina McBride and Train’s Pat Monahan sand a duet of Marry Me in front of them.  The audio of the ceremony was faded down while the two sang, but the audience did got to hear the couple say “I do” — or in this case “I will” –  and the official pronounce them husband and wife, adding, “Now, you may kiss your bride!”

Blake and Reba McEntire kept the performance-packed show — 24 in all, if you were counting — moving along, and got off a few good jokes in the opening.  They poked fun at Randy Travis’ DUI arrest and Tim Tebow’s alleged date with Taylor Swift, among other things, and also took some potshots at each other.

Copyright 2012 ABC News Radio


Kenny Chesney Is Lead Nominee for 47th Annual ACM Awards

Rick Diamond/Getty Images(NASHVILLE, Tenn.) -- Kenny Chesney leads the pack for the 47th Annual ACM Awards, with nine nominations. Jason Aldean is up for six trophies, and Lady Antebellum is nominated for five. The nominations were announced at a digital press conference Thursday morning, with fans announcing the finalists for the top prize, Entertainer of the Year.

Reba and Blake Shelton host the ACM Awards Sunday, April 1 on CBS.

Here are the nominees:

Entertainer of the Year
Jason Aldean
Kenny Chesney
Brad Paisley
Blake Shelton
Taylor Swift

Female Vocalist of the Year
Sara Evans
Miranda Lambert
Martina McBride
Taylor Swift
Carrie Underwood

Male Vocalist of the Year

Jason Aldean
Kenny Chesney
Brad Paisley
Blake Shelton
Chris Young

Vocal Duo
Love and Theft
Montgomery Gentry
Steel Magnolia
Thompson Square

Vocal Group of the Year
The Band Perry
Eli Young Band
Lady Antebellum
Rascal Flatts
Zac Brown Band

Album of the Year
Chief, Eric Church
Four the Record, Miranda Lambert
Hemingway's Whiskey, Kenny Chesney
My Kinda Party, Jason Aldean
Own the Night, Lady Antebellum

Song of the Year (Award to Songwriter)
"Crazy Girl," Eli Young Band
"Home," Dierks Bentley
"Just a Kiss," Lady Antebellum
"Threaten Me with Heaven," Vince Gill
"You and Tequila," Kenny Chesney featuring Grace Potter

Single Record of the Year
"Crazy Girl," Eli Young Band
"Don't You Wanna Stay," Jason Aldean and Kelly Clarkson
"Red Solo Cup," Toby Keith
"Tomorrow," Chris Young
"You and Tequila," Kenny Chesney featuring Grace Potter

Video of the Year
"Tattoos on This Town," Jason Aldean
"Homeboy," Eric Church
"Red Solo Cup," Toby Keith
"Just a Kiss," Lady Antebellum
"Mean," Taylor Swift

Vocal Event
"Country Boy," Aaron Lewis featuring Charlie Daniels and George Jones
"Don’t' You Wanna Stay," Jason Aldean and Kelly Clarkson
"Old Alabama," Brad Paisley featuring Alabama
"Remind Me," Brad Paisley and Carrie Underwood
"You and Tequila," Kenny Chesney featuring Grace Potter

Copyright 2012 ABC News Radio


ACM Awards: Robert Pattinson, Reese Witherspoon to Present

Jon Kopaloff/FilmMagic(NASHVILLE, Tenn.) -- Robert Pattinson and Reese Witherspoon have signed on to present trophies at the 46th Annual ACM Awards, airing live on CBS Sunday, April 3 at 8 p.m. ET. They co-star in the new movie Water for Elephants, opening next month.

Reba and Blake Shelton are set to host the show, which will feature performances from Carrie Underwood, Zac Brown Band with James Taylor, Miranda Lambert, Jason Aldean, Ronnie Dunn and others.

Copyright 2011 ABC News Radio


Second Round of Performers Announced for ACM Awards

Burke/Triolo Productions(NASHVILLE, Tenn.) -- The Zac Brown Band will team up with James Taylor at next month's 46th Annual ACM Awards.

Alabama, Dierks Bentley, Ronnie Dunn, Sara Evans, Martina McBride and Carrie Underwood will also perform on the show, along with this year's hosts Reba and Blake Shelton.

Nancy O'Dell and Ryan Seacrest have been confirmed as presenters.

All of this year's Entertainer of the Year nominees -- Jason Aldean, Toby Keith, Miranda Lambert, Brad Paisley, Taylor Swift and Keith Urban -- are confirmed to perform at the ACM's, airing live on CBS Sunday, April 3 at 8 p.m. ET.

Copyright 2011 ABC News Radio


Performers Announced for 46th Annual ACM Awards

Photo Courtesy - ABC/Heidi Gutman(LAS VEGAS) -- Taylor Swift, Keith Urban, Brad Paisley, Miranda Lambert, Jason Aldean, and Toby Keith have been confirmed to perform on the 46th Annual ACM Awards coming up April 3 on CBS. Reba and Blake Shelton will serve as hosts. The night's top prize, Entertainer of the Year, will be decided by the fans again this year too.

According to The Hollywood Reporter, online voting starts March 11th at

Copyright 2011 ABC News Radio

ABC News Radio