Entries in George Harrison (2)


George Harrison Tribute Concert Available on iTunes

Mark and Colleen Hayward/Redferns(NEW YORK) -- The 2002 George Harrison tribute concert, Concert for George, which featured artists including Eric Clapton, Paul McCartney, Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers, Billy Preston, George's son Dhani and others, is now available for purchase on iTunes.

The concert, which was held at London's Royal Albert Hall a year after Harrison's death, can be purchased either in standard or hi-definition.  In addition to the concert, a Concert for George documentary, three mini-features and a photo gallery are also included with the purchase.

Here's the track listing for Concert for George:

1. "Your Eyes" -- Anoushka Shankar
2. "The Inner Light" -- Jeff Lynne & Anoushka Shankar
3. "Arpan" -- Conducted by Anoushka Shankar
4. "Sit on My Face" -- Monty Python
5. "The Lumberjack Song" -- Monty Python with Tom Hanks
6. "I Want to Tell You" -- Jeff Lynne
7. "If I Needed Someone" -- Eric Clapton
8. "Old Brown Shoe" -- Gary Brooker
9. "Give Me Love" -- Jeff Lynne
10. "Beware of Darkness" -- Eric Clapton
11. "Here Comes the Sun" -- Joe Brown
12. "That’s the Way It Goes" -- Joe Brown
13. "Horse to the Water" -- Sam Brown
14. "Taxman" -- Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers
15. "I Need You" -- Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers
16. "Handle with Care" -- Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers with Jeff Lynne & Dhani Harrison
17. "Isn’t It a Pity" -- Billy Preston
18. "Photograph" -- Ringo Starr
19. "Honey Don’t" -- Ringo Starr
20. "For You Blue" -- Paul McCartney
21. "Something" -- Paul McCartney & Eric Clapton
22. "All Things Must Pass" -- Paul McCartney
23. "While My Guitar Gently Weeps" -- Paul McCartney & Eric Clapton
24. "My Sweet Lord" -- Billy Preston
25. "Wah Wah" -- Eric Clapton & Band
26. "I’ll See You in My Dreams" -- Joe Brown´╗┐

Copyright 2011 ABC News Radio


George Harrison Song Leads Beatles' Tracks on iTunes Charts

Photo Courtesy - Apple Corps Ltd./ Apple Inc.(NEW YORK) -- Now that the Beatles are on iTunes, the songwriting genius of John Lennon and Paul McCartney can finally be digitally downloaded.  But they're going to have to get in line behind the songwriting genius of George Harrison.

According to Billboard, after one full day of iTunes availability, the Beatles have placed 52 songs in the Top 200 downloads, but the highest-ranked one is "Here Comes the Sun" -- a George Harrison composition -- at number 16.  That's followed by a Lennon/McCartney number, "Let It Be," at number 20.  The next highest-ranked Beatles downloads are "In My Life" at number 22, "Blackbird" at number 32, "Come Together" at number 35 and "Hey Jude" at number 44.

On the album side, Billboard reports that the band's Abbey Road is the best-seller of their catalog, ranking at number seven on iTunes top albums chart, followed by The Beatles -- which everyone calls "The White album" -- at number eight.  Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band is number nine, and the Beatles Box Set, which includes all 13 of their studio albums, is ranked number 11.  The least popular Beatles album so far is Yellow Submarine, in at number 49.

Copyright 2010 ABC News Radio

ABC News Radio