Entries in The Band Perry (3)


CMA Awards 2011 Winners: Taylor Swift Named Entertainer of the Year

Jason Kempin/Getty Images(NASHVILLE, Tenn.) -- Taylor Swift was named Entertainer of the Year for the second time Wednesday night at the 45th annual CMA Awards, which aired live from Nashville, Tenn., on ABC.

Swift now joins Barbara Mandrell as the only other female artist in CMA history ever to be named Entertainer of the Year twice.

"I'm so happy right now!," gushed Swift from the podium.  "This is thanks to all the fans who filled up those stadiums and arenas all over the world this year."

The pop country star then proceeded to thank all the artists who've joined her onstage for her Speak Now tour, reading the names off her arm, where she'd scrawled them with a marker.  That list of names ranged from pop stars like Justin Bieber and Jason Mraz, to rappers like Nelly and T.I., to fellow country stars like Tim McGraw.

While Swift snagged the evening's most prestigious award, the night's big winner was The Band Perry, who scooped up three trophies, including New Artist of the Year, and both Song and Single of the Year for their smash hit "If I Die Young."  Accepting the Song of the Year trophy was Kimberly Perry, who wrote "If I Die Young."

"I truly believe that [the song] would've been written with or without me.  It just always felt like a song that was meant to be here," Perry said.

The night's other winners included country's current power couple Blake Shelton and Miranda Lambert.  The two, who wed earlier this year, each picked up their second straight CMA Male and Female Vocalist of the Year awards.

Jason Aldean scored two wins, picking up the Album of the Year award for My Kinda Party, and the Musical Event of the Year trophy for his duet with Kelly Clarkson, "Don't You Wanna Stay."  Sugarland took home their fifth win in the Vocal Duo category, and dedicated it to their fans, especially the "good folks of Indiana."  Over the summer a number of fans were killed when the group's stage collapsed during the Indiana State Fair due to high winds.

Lady Antebellum, meanwhile, scored their third straight win as Vocal Group of the Year.

Here's a list of winners at the 45th Annual Country Music Association Awards:

-- Entertainer of the Year: Taylor Swift
-- Female Vocalist of the Year: Miranda Lambert
-- Male Vocalist of the Year: Blake Shelton
-- New Artist of the Year: The Band Perry
-- Vocal Group of the Year: Lady Antebellum
-- Single of the Year: "If I Die Young," The Band Perry
-- Album of the Year: My Kinda Party, Jason Aldean
-- Song of the Year: "If I Die Young," The Band Perry
-- Vocal Duo of the Year: Sugarland
-- Musical Event of the Year: "Don't You Wanna Stay," Jason Aldean w/Kelly Clarkson
-- Music Video of the Year: "You and Tequila," Kenny Chesney w/Grace Potter
-- Musician of the Year: Mac McAnally

Copyright 2011 ABC News Radio


2011 CMT Music Awards Rock Nashville Wednesday Night

Digital Vision/Photodisc(NASHVILLE, Tenn.) -- The 2011 CMT Music Awards will be handed out Wednesday night in Nashville, Tennessee, and Jason Aldean is the lead nominee with four nods.

Lady Antebellum, Miranda Lambert, Rascal Flatts, Taylor Swift, The Band Perry, and Zac Brown Band all follow with three nominations each.

Among the confirmed performers are Lady Antebellum, Luke Bryan, Keith Urban, Toby Keith, The Band Perry, Big & Rich, Zac Brown Band, Rascal Flatts, Sheryl Crow, and show host Kid Rock.

Presenters on Wednesday night's show include American Idol champ Scotty McCreery and runner-up Lauren Alaina, Martina McBride, Little Big Town, Laura Bell Bundy, Shania Twain, Justin Bieber, Sara Evans, and Train.  Actors Cheryl Hines, Gary Busey, Mary Steenburgen, Melissa Peterman, Rick Schroeder, Indianapolis 500 winner Dan Wheldon, and Dancing with the Stars champ Hines Ward will be there, too.

Colt Ford, the Janedear Girls, Thompson Square, and Lee Brice are among the stars scheduled to perform on the Nationwide Insurance stage during Wednesday night's CMT Music Awards.  Newcomers Hunter Hayes, Matt Mason, and Steven Clawson of CMT's Next Superstar will also perform on that stage.

The Nationwide Insurance On Your Side award will also be handed out by Dale Earnhardt, Jr. during the show to honor country music's best new live act.  Nominees for the fan-voted award are Luke Bryan, Eric Church, Colt Ford, The Band Perry, and Josh Thompson.

Here are some of the 2011 CMT Music Awards Nominees:

Video of the Year
Jason Aldean, "My Kinda Party"
Kenny Chesney, "The Boys of Fall"
Lady Antebellum, "Hello World"
Miranda Lambert, "The House That Built Me"
Rascal Flatts, "Why Wait"
Sugarland, "Stuck Like Glue"
Taylor Swift, "Mine"
The Band Perry, "If I Die Young"
Carrie Underwood, "Undo It"
Zac Brown Band, "Colder Weather"

Male Video of the Year
Jason Aldean, "My Kinda Party"
Kenny Chesney, "The Boys of Fall"
Toby Keith, "Bullets in the Gun"
Blake Shelton, "Who Are You When I'm Not Looking"
Keith Urban, "Without You"

Female Video of the Year
Sara Evans, "A Little Bit Stronger"
Miranda Lambert, "The House That Built Me"
Reba, "Turn on the Radio"
Taylor Swift, "Mine"
Carrie Underwood, "Undo It"

Group Video of the Year
Lady Antebellum, "Hello World"
Little Big Town, "Little White Church"
Rascal Flatts, "Why Wait"
The  Band Perry, "If I Die Young"
Zac Brown Band, "Colder Weather"

Duo Video of the Year
Steel Magnolia, "Last Night Again"
Sugarland, "Stuck Like Glue"
The Civil Wars, "Barton Hollow"
The JaneDear girls, "Wildflower"
Thompson Square, "Are You Gonna Kiss Me or Not"

Collaborative Video of the Year
Jason Aldean with Kelly Clarkson, "Don't You Wanna Stay"
Justin Bieber featuring Rascal Flatts, "That Should Be Me"
Kid Rock featuring Sheryl Crow, "Collide"
Aaron Lewis featuring George Jones and Charlie Daniels, "Country Boy"
Loretta Lynn, Miranda Lambert and Sheryl Crow, "Coal Miner's Daughter"

CMT Performance of the Year
Martina McBride and Train, "A Broken Wing" (From CMT Crossroads)
Reba, "If I Were a Boy" (From Unplugged: Reba)
Darius Rucker and Adele, "Need You Now" (From 2010 CMT Artists of the Year)
Keith Urban and John Mayer, "Sweet Thing" (From CMT Crossroads)
Zac Brown Band and Jimmy Buffett, "Margaritaville" (From CMT Crossroads)

Of note, the final nominees for Video of the Year will be announced at the top of the show and final voting will take place at throughout the night.´╗┐

Copyright 2011 ABC News Radio


Eric Church, The Band Perry Take ACM Top Newcomer Categories

Photo Courtesy - Getty Images(NASHVILLE, Tenn.) -- Fans have voted Eric Church as the Academy of Country Music's Top New Solo Artist and The Band Perry as Top New Duo or Group.

The results were announced Friday, and the two acts will now go on to compete for the overall ACM Top New Artist award. That vote starts March 11 at and runs through the ACM Awards broadcast on CBS on Sunday, April 3.

Luke Bryan will present the trophies to The Band Perry and Eric Church at the CRS Music City Jam Wednesday night in Nashville.

Copyright 2011 ABC News Radio´╗┐

ABC News Radio