News Pages
« Rihanna Invites Fans Behind the Scenes of "We Found Love" | Main | Townshend, Seger, Miller Among 2012 Songwriters Hall of Fame Nominees »

Seger, Miller, Lightfoot Among 2012 Songwriters Hall of Fame Nominees

SongwritersHallofFame.orgBob Seger, Steve Miller, Gordon Lightfoot and Yusuf Islam (the artist formerly known as Cat Stevens) are among the 2012 nominees up for induction into the Songwriters Hall of Fame.  The famed artists are among a list of composers being considered in the Performer/Songwriters category, along with The Who's Pete Townshend, Dion DiMucci, Lou Reed, Blondie's Deborah Harry & Chris Stein, Tom Waits and others.

Among the many non-performing songwriters also under consideration for induction next year are:

-- Don Covay, who wrote Aretha Franklin's "Chain of Fools" and Rod Stewart's "Tonight's the Night"
-- Jerry Fuller, writer of Ricky Nelson's "Travelin' Man" and Gary Puckett and the Union Gap's "Young Girl"
-- Graham Gouldman, composer of The Hollies' "Bus Stop" and The Yardbirds' "For Your Love"
-- Tony Hatch, composer of Petula Clark's "Downtown" and "Don't Sleep in the Subway"
-- Sandy Linzer & Denny Randell -- who wrote the hits "Workin' My Way Back to You" and "Let's Hang On to What We've Got" for Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons,
-- Tony Macaulay, composer of The Foundations' "Baby Now That I've Found You" and "Build Me Up Buttercup,"
-- Chips Moman, writer of B.J. Thomas' "Another Somebody Done Somebody Wrong Song" and co-writer of Aretha Franklin's "Do Right Woman, Do Right Man"
-- Artie Resnick & Kenny Young, who penned The Drifters' "Under the Boardwalk" and The Young Rascals' "Good Lovin'"
-- P.F. Sloan & Steve Barri, writers of Johnny Rivers' "Secret Agent Man" and Barry Maguire's "Eve of Destruction"
-- Jim Steinman, who wrote Meat Loaf's "Paradise by the Dashboard Light" and "Two Out of Three Ain't Bad."

Inductees are chosen by eligible Songwriters Hall of Fame members, who must pick two nominees in each of the two categories.  Votes must be cast by December 12.  The 2012 induction ceremony is scheduled for June 12 the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City.

Copyright 2011 ABC News Radio

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <code> <em> <i> <strike> <strong>