News Pages
« The Script Lead Singer Danny O'Donoghue Re-Ups as a Coach on "The Voice UK" | Main | Solange Says Julez, Blue Ivy Will Be More Like Sister and Brother than Cousins »

Soundtrack to Mellencamp-Scored Musical "Ghost Brothers of Darkland County" Due Out in March

Hear Music/Concord Music GroupA star-studded soundtrack album to Ghost Brothers of Darkland County, the Southern gothic stage musical on which John Mellencamp collaborated with famed horror author Stephen King and acclaimed producer T Bone Burnett, is scheduled to be released on March 19, 2013.  The recording features performances by a cast of musicians and actors that includes Elvis Costello, Sheryl Crow, Roseanne Cash, Kris Kristofferson, Matthew McConaughey, Meg Ryan and Mellencamp himself.

Ghost Brothers of Darkland County will be available as a deluxe two-CD/DVD package and as a standard enhanced CD.  The multidisc set will offer the entire soundtrack, both with and without dialog, a making-of documentary, the complete King-penned libretto of the musical, handwritten lyrics, special artwork and a variety of extras.  The standard CD will feature the soundtrack, selected segments of dialog and a digital version of the libretto.

The musical, which had its premiere run this past spring at Atlanta's Alliance Theatre, tells the story of a tragedy in rural Mississippi that claims the lives of two brothers and a young girl and how the incident haunts a town during the ensuing years. 

King notes how the project took both him and Mellencamp out of their comfort zones.  "John can make rock & roll records and I can write books for the rest of our lives," he notes, "but that's the safe way to do it, and that's no way to live if you want to stay creative."

The work may be staged at other venues in the coming months, although Mellencamp tells Rolling Stone he's ambivalent about whether the production makes it to Broadway.

"There's business people that want it to be on Broadway," he explains.  "I can't speak for Stephen, but for me it doesn't matter.  It's the process I enjoy, not the outcome."

The lead track from the album, "That's Me," which is performed by Costello, is streaming online now.

Here is the complete list of songs and performers for the Ghost Brothers of Darkland County soundtrack:

"That's Me," Elvis Costello
"That's Who I Am," Neko Case
"So Goddamn Smart," Dave Alvin, Phil Alvin, Sheryl Crow
"Wrong, Wrong, Wrong About Me," Elvis Costello
"Brotherly Love," Ryan Bingham and Will Dailey
"How Many Days," Kris Kristofferson
"You Are Blind," Ryan Bingham
"Home Again," Sheryl Crow, Dave Alvin, Phil Alvin, Taj Mahal
"What's Going On Here," Rosanne Cash
"My Name Is Joe," Clyde Mulroney
"Tear This Cabin Down," Taj Mahal
"And Your Days Are Gone," Sheryl Crow, Dave Alvin, Phil Alvin
"Jukin'," Sheryl Crow
"What Kind of Man Am I," Kris Kristofferson, Phil Alvin, Sheryl Crow, Dave Alvin, Taj Mahal
"So Goddamn Good," Phil Alvin, Dave Alvin, Sheryl Crow
"Away from This World," Sheryl Crow
"Truth," John Mellencamp

Copyright 2012 ABC News Radio