News Pages
« Shakira Expecting First Child | Main | Bruno Mars Completes Album, Celebrates with "Funny or Die" Video »

Usher Leads Soul Train Awards '12 Nominees; Cedric the Entertainer Hosting

Photo by Frazer Harrison/Getty Images via ABCThe nominees for this year's Soul Train Awards have been announced, and Usher leads the pack with five nods, including Song of the Year and Album of the Year.  The singer, who earlier this year released his Looking 4 Myself album, has now surpassed Michael Jackson and Beyonce in total nominations in a lifetime.

R. Kelly, however, gets the distinction of being the most nominated artist in Soul Train Awards History.  This year he's nominated for two awards, including Album of the Year for Write Me Back.

This year's Soul Train honors will be served up to television audiences on Thanksgiving weekend.  Cedric the Entertainer, will host the show, taking place November 8 at Planet Hollywood’s PH Live venue in Las Vegas.  The show will air on Sunday, November 25, simultaneously on BET and Centric, at 9 p.m. ET/PT.

New Edition is this year's Lifetime Achievement Award recipient, and live performers will be announced soon.  The late Whitney Houston has received a posthumous nomination in the Best Gospel Inspirational Performance category for her R. Kelly-produced "Celebrate" duet with Jordin Sparks from the Sparkle soundtrack.

The late Amy Winehouse has also been honored with a posthumous nomination in the Best International Performance Category for her song "Our Day Will Come."

Here are the Soul Train Awards '12 nominees:
Best New Artist
Elle Varner
Emeli Sande
J. Cole
Luke James
Robert Glasper
Centric Award
Esperanza Spalding
Gary Clark Jr.
Leah Labelle
Best Gospel/Inspirational Performance
BeBe Winans, "America America"
Fred Hammond, "I Feel Good"
Marvin Sapp, "My Testimony"
Mary Mary, "Go Get It"
Whitney Houston and Jordin Sparks, "Celebrate"
Best Hip-Hop Song of the Year
2 Chainz feat. Drake, "No Lie"
Wale feat. Miguel, "Lotus Flower Bomb"
Nas, "Daughters"
Kanye West feat. Big Sean, Pusha T and 2 Chainz, "Mercy"
Young Jeezy feat. Ne-Yo, "Leave You Alone"

Best R&B/Soul Female Artist
Keyshia Cole
Mary J. Blige
Melanie Fiona
Best R&B/Soul Male Artist
Robin Thicke
Trey Songz
Album of the Year
Eric Benet, The One
Frank Ocean, Channel Orange
Nas, Life Is Good
R. Kelly, Write Me Back
Usher, Looking 4 Myself
Song of the Year
Estelle, "Thank You"
John Legend feat. Ludacris, "Tonight (Best You Ever Had)"
Trey Songz, "Heart Attack"
Tyrese, "Stay"
Usher, "Climax"
Wale feat. Miguel, "Lotus Flower Bomb"
The Ashford & Simpson Songwriter’s Award
"Thank You," Estelle (Writers: Arden Altino, Akene "The Champ" Dunkley, Jerry Duplessis, Doug F. Edwards, Thomas D. Richardson, Aliaune Thiam)
"Tonight (Best You Ever Had)," John Legend feat. Ludacris (Writers: Allen Arthur, Christopher "Ludacris" Bridges, Keith Justice, Miguel Pimentel "Miguel," Clayton Reilly, John Stephens)
"Daughters," Nas (Writers: Nasir Jones, Ernest D. Wilson, Patrick Adams, Gary DeCarlo, Dale Frashuer, Paul Leka)
"Share My Love," R. Kelly (Writer: Robert Kelly)
"Climax," Usher (Writers: Usher Raymond IV, Sean "Redd Stylez" Fenton, Thomas "Diplo" Pentz, Ariel Rechtshaid)
Best Dance Performance
Beyoncé, "Love on Top"
Chris Brown, "Turn Up the Music"
Nicki Minaj, "Starships"
Rihanna, "Where Have You Been"
Usher, "Scream"
CentricTV.com Awards:
CENTRICTV.com Best Caribbean Performance
Cover Drive, "Bajan Style"
Damien "Junior Gong" Marley, "SuperHeavy"
Jimmy Cliff, "Rebirth"
Matisyahu, "Spark Seeker"
Sean Paul, "Tomahawk Technique"
CENTRICTV.com Best International Performance
Amy Winehouse, "Our Day Will Come"
Daley feat. Marsha Ambrosius, "Alone Together"
Emeli Sande, "Next to Me"
Estelle, "Thank You"
Gotye feat. Kimbra, "Somebody (That I Used To Know)"
Rebecca Ferguson, "Nothing's Real but Love"
CENTRICTV.com Best Traditional Jazz Artist/Group
Chris Botti, Impressions
Kenny Garrett, Seeds from the Underground
Melody Gardot, The Absence
The Robert Glasper Experiment, Black Radio
Tony Bennett, Isn't It Romantic
CENTRICTV.com Best Contemporary Jazz Artist/Group
Ben Tankard, Full Tank
Brian Culbertson, DREAMS
Cassandra Wilson, Another Country
Esperanza Spalding, Radio Music Society
Peter White, Here We Go

Copyright 2012 ABC News Radio