« Chris Brown Arrested for Assault Outside D.C. Hotel | Main | Rod Stewart Definitely Plans to Retire -- in 25 Years »

Sammy Hagar & Members of Journey and KISS Featured on Ronnie Montrose Tribute Concert DVD

RoMoCoA DVD featuring highlights from a star-studded tribute concert held last year in honor of legendary hard-rock guitarist Ronnie Montrose will be arriving in stores on December 10.  Concert for Ronnie Montrose -- A Celebration of His Life in Music includes performances by the late guitarist's surviving Montrose band mates Sammy Hagar, Dennis Carmassi and drummer Bill Church, as well as Journey's Neal Schon, ex-Journey drummer Steve Smith, KISS' Eric Singer and Tommy Thayer, Styx's Ricky Phillips and Chickenfoot's Joe Satriani.

The show, which took place on April 27, 2012, at San Francisco's Regency Ballroom and was recorded in 5.1 surround sound, also featured the members of Ronnie's post-Montrose group Gamma and many more of the guitarist's musical friends.  The set featured the various artists playing songs from throughout Montrose's long career, including classics from his stint with the Edgar Winter Group.

The DVD also boasts some bonus material, including a set of songs performed by some of the veteran Bay-area musicians that was recorded at Grateful Dead singer/guitarist Bob Weir's TRI Studios.  Among the other extra features are a photo gallery and interviews with Hagar, Ted Nugent, KISS and other stars.

Montrose committed suicide on March 3, 2012, after a long battle with prostate cancer.  He was 64.

Here's a complete list of songs performed on the Concert for Ronnie Montrose DVD:

"Open Fire"
"Town Without Pity"
"I Don't Want It"
"Little Suzi"
"One Thing on My Mind"
"Free Ride"
"Thunder and Lightning"
"Razor King"
"No Tears"
"Ready for Action"
"Fight to the Finish"
"One and a Half"
"Good Rockin' Tonight"
"Rock the Nation"
"Make It Last"
"Bad Motor Scooter"
"Rock Candy"
"Space Station No. 5"

Bonus Songs:
"Good Rockin' Tonight"
"Rock Candy"
"Oh No You Don't"
"Paper Money"
"Wild Night"

Copyright 2013 ABC News Radio

ABC News Radio