« Sevendust Hints at Another Acoustic Tour, Plans to Record Acoustic EP Next Year | Main | 2 Chainz Launches New Documentary Miniseries Online »

New Gov't Mule Album "Shout!" to Feature Variety of Guest Singers Including Steve Winwood, Dr. John

Blue Note RecordsGov't Mule, the veteran rock group fronted by Allman Brothers Band guitarist Warren Haynes, will release a unique and star-studded new album project titled Shout! on September 24.  The two-CD set will feature one disc offering 11 brand-new songs from Gov't Mule and a second boasting a variety of guest singers performing those same tunes with accompaniment from Haynes and company.

Among the vocalists who contribute their talents to Shout! are Steve Winwood, Dr. John, Elvis Costello, ex-Deep Purple bassist Glenn Hughes and Dave Matthews.

Speaking recently with ABC News Radio, Haynes explains that the album "started out as a normal Gov't Mule record, [but] somewhere along the line we took this drastic left turn onto a dirt road that led us to the idea of, 'What would happen if we offered a bonus disc of all these same songs but with other singers singing them?'"

With regard to concept behind Shout!, Warren says, "It's something I don't think anybody's ever really done before and we're very excited about it."  As for the artists who appear on the album, he adds, "They're a lot of my favorite singers, a lot of close friends [and] a lot of people that influenced us and influenced these particular songs."

Haynes tells ABC News Radio that he was particularly happy about how "each song and each guest performance really connect in a way that the singer sounds like he or she were meant to sing the song."

Haynes points out that, sonically, the new album "represents a culmination of everything we've done in the past and where we are right now."  He also explains that for some of the new songs, Gov't Mule decided to explore more specifically certain genres and bands that had long inspired the group.

"It kind of shows influences that we've always had that have never come to the surface until now," he suggests. "[And] it kind of shows some influences that we've hinted around at in the past but never to this extent."

Haynes is hoping the band will schedule a special show or shows that will feature some of the guest singers performing alongside Gov't Mule, although definite plans haven't been nailed down.  The band currently is touring Europe but will be back in the U.S. in time to play the Gathering of the Vibes festival on July 27 in Bridgeport, Connecticut.  Visit to check out all of the group's upcoming concerts.

Here is the complete track list for Shout!: along with the guest artist featured on each song:

Disc 1:

"World Boss"
"No Reward"
"Whisper in Your Soul"
"Scared to Live"
"Stoop So Low"
"Forsaken Savior"
"Done Got Wise"
"When the World Gets Small"
"Funny Little Tragedy"
"Bring On the Music"

Disc 2:

"World Boss" (with Ben Harper)
"Funny Little Tragedy" (with Elvis Costello)
"Stoop So Low" (with Dr. John)
"Captured" (with Jim James)
"Whisper in Your Soul" (with Grace Potter)
"Scared to Live" (with Toots Hibbert)
"No Reward" (with Glenn Hughes)
"Bring On the Music" (with Ty Taylor)
"Forsaken Savior" (with Dave Matthews)
"Done Got Wise" (with Myles Kennedy)
"When the World Gets Small" (with Steve Winwood)

Copyright 2013 ABC News Radio

ABC News Radio