« Justin Timberlake Describes Concept Behind "The 20/20 Experience - 2 of 2" | Main | Mariah Carey Hits Studio with Jermaine Dupri, Darkchild, Hit-Boy, Mike WiLL Made It »

Paul McCartney Reveals Track List of Upcoming Album, "New"

MPL/Mary McCartneyHere some cool news about New, Paul McCartney's upcoming studio album.  The rock legend has unveiled some fresh information about the record, including its complete track list.

New will feature 12 songs, half of which were produced by Giles Martin, son of longtime Beatles producer George Martin.  As previously reported, McCartney also teamed up with three other producers -- Mark Ronson, Ethan Johns and Paul Epworth -- each of whom collaborated with the ex-Beatles star on two tracks for the project.  The album's running time is 46 minutes, 11 seconds.

In a statement, McCartney explains why he decided to work with multiple producers.  "The original idea was to go to a couple of producers whose work I loved, to see who I got on with best -- but it turned out I got on with all of them!" he reveals.  "We made something really different with each producer, so I couldn't choose and ended up working with all four.  We just had a good time in different ways."

Sir Paul also notes that he likes the diversity of the material on New.  "It's funny, when I play people the album they're surprised it's me," he points out.  "A lot of the tracks are quite varied and not necessarily in a style you'd recognize as mine.  I didn't want it to all sound the same."

McCartney recorded New at six different studios -- Henson Recording Studios in Los Angeles; Avatar Studios in New York City; Hog Hill Mill in East Sussex, U.K.; and Abbey Road Studios, Air Studios and Wolf Tone Studios in London.

New will be released on October 15.  Here's the track list:

"Save Us" (produced by Paul Epworth)
"Alligator" (produced by Mark Ronson)
"On My Way to Work" (produced by Giles Martin)
"Queenie Eye" (produced by Paul Epworth)
"Early Days" (produced by Ethan Johns)
"New" (produced by Mark Ronson)
"Appreciate" (produced by Giles Martin)
"Everybody Out There" (produced by Giles Martin)
"Hosanna" (produced by Ethan Johns)
"I Can Bet" (produced by Giles Martin)
"Looking at Her" (produced by Giles Martin)
"Road" (produced by Giles Martin)

Copyright 2013 ABC News Radio

ABC News Radio