« Justin Timberlake May Produce a Remake of 1980 Film "The Idolmaker" | Main | Jackson Browne, Pearl Jam's Jeff Ament Featured on "Sweet Relief III" Benefit Album »

Jackson Browne, Rickie Lee Jones Featured on "Sweet Relief III" Benefit Album

Vanguard RecordsJackson Browne and Rickie Lee Jones are among the many singer/songwriters who've contributed songs to the third installment of the Sweet Relief series of benefit albums.  The Sweet Relief III: Pennies from Heaven compilation, which will be released this Tuesday, features various artists performing cover tunes that offer themes of support and assistance.

Browne contributes a rendition of his late friend Warren Zevon's "Don't Let Us Get Sick," while Jones delivers a version of the early Beach Boys hit "Surfer Girl."  You can check out Jackson's tune now at Vanguard Records' SoundCloud page.  Other musicians featured on the album include k.d. lang, Ben Harper, Ron Sexsmith and Victoria Williams.

Williams, who suffers from multiple sclerosis, was the beneficiary of the first Sweet Relief compilation.  Sales of the albums now raise funds for the Sweet Relief Musicians Fund, which donates money to artists in need of financial assistance because of illness or other issues.

"Musicians are always among the first to give their energy and talent to help other people in times of emergency, though they are very often without health insurance themselves," says Browne in a statement.  "Sweet Relief has been helping musicians for years, and has helped some whom I am very much indebted to for enriching my life.  I am very happy to take part in this CD project, and for the chance to support Sweet Relief's very soulful work."

Sweet Relief III: Pennies from Heaven boasts a cover created by famed Pop Art painter Peter Max.  Here is the full track list of the album:

"Pennies from Heaven" - Ron Sexsmith
"Brother Where Are You" - Shelby Lynne
"Big Spender" - Sam Phillips
"How Did You Find Me Here" - k.d. lang
"Crazy Love" - Ben Harper
"Heart of Gold" - Genevieve Toupin
"If I Needed You" - Joseph Arthur
"Surfer Girl" - Rickie Lee Jones
"With a Little Help from My Friends" - Tina Schlieske
"Change Is Gonna Come" - Victoria Williams
"King of the Road" - She & Him
"I'll Be Home" - Eleni Mandell
"Don't Let Us Get Sick" - Jackson Browne

Copyright 2013 ABC News Radio

ABC News Radio