« The Year in Rock 2014 -- Nirvana, KISS Inducted into Rock and Roll Hall of Fame; Green Day, Joan Jett Make 2015 Class | Main | Phillip Phillips Engaged to Longtime Girlfriend »

AXS TV Special Focusing on 2014 "Classic Rock" Roll of Honour Premieres Sunday Night 

MSO PRAn hour-long special featuring highlights from the 2014 Classic Rock Roll of Honour awards will premiere Sunday night at 9 p.m. ET on the high-definition channel AXS TV.  The star-studded ceremony, which was hosted by Sammy Hagar, took place last month at the Avalon Ballroom in Los Angeles, marking the first time the annual event was held outside of the U.K.

This year's honorees included The Doors, Gregg Allman, Aerosmith's Joe Perry, Ozzy Osbourne, Jeff Lynne and Queen with Adam Lambert.

The Doors were presented with the Inspiration award, and drummer John Densmore was on hand to accept the honor.  A couple weeks after the event, Densmore spoke with ABC News Radio and shared a bit of the speech he gave, which briefly paid homage to his late band mates Jim Morrison and Ray Manzarek.

He recalled, "I basically said…'It takes four Doors to make a sedan.  Without Jim and Ray, Robby [Krieger] and I are just the Coupes.  And without you fans we wouldn't have even got the car started.  So, thank you.'"

Densmore also told ABC News Radio that he was excited to bump into Monty Python star Eric Idle, who was in attendance to present Electric Light Orchestra frontman Jeff Lynne with the Outstanding Contribution honor.

As for Perry, he was recognized with the Maestro award.  He told ABC News Radio that he thought Hagar "did a good job" hosting the ceremony, adding that "it was fun, and it was really good to see everybody, you know, bump into people in the halls and stuff."

Besides the various presentations, the Classic Rock Roll of Honour awards also featured several performances, including an all-star jam by ex-Guns N' Roses drummer Matt Sorum's supergroup Kings of Chaos and various guest musicians.  Among the stars who hit the stage with Kings of Chaos were Hagar, Perry, ZZ Top's Billy Gibbons and Def Leppard's Joe Elliott.

You can check out a preview video featuring clips from the ceremony at Classic Rock Magazine's official YouTube channel.  An encore screening of the 2014 Classic Rock Roll of Honour will air at 11 p.m. ET on AXS TV.

Here is the complete list of winners:

Living Legend -- Gregg Allman
Inspiration -- The Doors
Band of the Year -- Queen with Adam Lambert
Film of the Year -- Metallica, Through the Never
Album of the Year -- Wilko Johnson and Roger Daltrey, Going Back Home
Classic Album -- Ozzy Osbourne, Blizzard of Ozz
Outstanding Contribution -- Jeff Lynne
Reissue of the Year -- Led Zeppelin I, II III Deluxe Editions
Maestro -- Joe Perry
Metal Guru -- Dave Mustaine
The Bluesman -- Eric Burdon
The VIP -- Sharon Osbourne
Best New Band -- The Cadillac Three

Copyright 2014 ABC News Radio

ABC News Radio