« Brad Paisley and Keith Urban Salute the Beatles on Sunday Night TV Special | Main | Sting & Paul Simon Kick Off "On Stage Together" Tour Saturday »

Upcoming Dio Tribute Album to Feature Metallica, Scorpions, Rob Halford & More

RhinoA star-packed list of hard-rock heavyweights have contributed to a tribute album to late Dio/Rainbow/Black Sabbath singer Ronnie James Dio, who died in 2010 after a battle with stomach cancer.  Due out on April 1, This Is Your Life includes new versions of songs Ronnie recorded with his various bands, and features appearances by Metallica, Scorpions, Motörhead, Judas Priest's Rob Halford, Anthrax, Tenacious D and former members of Dio, Rainbow and Black Sabbath.

Among the interesting tracks on the album are renditions of "The Temple of the King" by the Scorpions; "Starstruck" by Motörhead and Saxon's Biff Byford; "Catch the Rainbow," with ex-Deep Purple member Glenn Hughes and Dio alumni Simon Wright, Craig Goldy, Rudy Sarzo and Scott Warren; "Man on the Silver Mountain," by Halford and ex-Dio members Warren, Vinny Appice, Doug Aldrich and Jeff Pilson; and "Ronnie Rising Medley" by Metallica, which incorporates the songs "A Light in the Black," "Tarot Woman," "Stargazer" and "Kill the King."  Closing out This Is Your Life is a previously released Dio song of the same name, which originally appeared on the 1996 album Angry Machines.

Proceeds raised by the album will benefit the Ronnie James Dio Stand Up and Shout Cancer Fund, a charity co-founded by Dio's widow, Wendy, that focuses on supporting cancer research and raising awareness about the disease.  Wendy Dio also produced This Is Your Life, which will be available on CD and as a digital download.

Here is the full track list for the album:

"Neon Knights" -- Anthrax*
"The Last in Line" -- Tenacious D*
"The Mob Rules" -- Adrenaline Mob
"Rainbow in the Dark" -- Corey Taylor, Roy Mayorga, Satchel, Christian Martucci, Jason Christopher*
"Straight Through the Heart" -- Halestorm*
"Starstruck" -- Motörhead with Biff Byford*
"The Temple of the King" -- Scorpions*
"Egypt (The Chains Are On)" -- Doro
"Holy Diver" -- Killswitch Engage
"Catch the Rainbow" -- Glenn Hughes, Simon Wright, Craig Goldy, Rudy Sarzo, Scott Warren*
"I" -- Oni Logan, Jimmy Bain, Rowan Robertson, Brian Tichy*
"Man on the Silver Mountain" -- Rob Halford, Vinny Appice, Doug Aldrich, Jeff Pilson, Scott Warren*
"Ronnie Rising Medley" (Featuring "A Light in the Black," "Tarot Woman," "Stargazer," "Kill the King") -- Metallica*
"This Is Your Life" -- Dio

* = Previously unreleased

Copyright 2014 ABC News Radio

ABC News Radio