« Colbie Caillat on Why She Scrapped the Original Footage of Her New Lyric Video: "I'm Too Embarrassed by It!" | Main | Chris Martin Is Now a Carnivore, Following Split with Gwyneth Paltrow »

Doobie Brothers to Be Inducted into Live-Entertainment Industry Organization's Hall of Fame This Fall

Courtesy of The Doobie BrothersThe Doobie Brothers and their longtime manager, Bruce Cohn, will be among the luminaries who will be inducted into the Nashville-based International Entertainment Buyers Association's Hall of Fame this year.  The honor recognizes people and organizations that have made important contributions to the live-entertainment industry.

The Doobies will be the first rock act ever to be welcomed into the IEBA's Hall of Fame.  Previous honorees include Johnny Cash, George Jones, Dick Clark and Lawrence Welk.

The inductions will take place at the association's 2014 Honors and Awards Ceremony, which will be held on September 30 at the CMA Theater at the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum in Nashville.  The event closes out the IEBA's 44th Annual Conference, which begins on September 27 and runs through the 30th.  The ceremony is a private event; admission is free for conference attendees.

"The IEBA Hall of Fame induction is an honor in itself," says Cohn in a statement.  "I can’t tell you how much more it means to be inducted simultaneously with the band.  We have accomplished so much together and will continue to achieve even more in the future.  We have a brotherhood that I am proud of, and -- even after 44 years together -- I think some of the most exciting times are just around the corner."

Among the exciting things the Doobie Brothers have in store for fans is the recently announced collaborative album that will see the band teaming up with a variety of big-name country artists, as well as with former singer/keyboardist Michael McDonald.  The record is expected out in the fall.  In addition, the Doobies have a busy 2014 tour itinerary that includes joint shows with Peter Frampton and Boston.

Copyright 2014 ABC News Radio

ABC News Radio