« Jill Scott Says Her Chart-Topping Album "Represents 15 Years of Tenacity" | Main | Megadeth Debuts Violent, Animated "The Threat Is Real" Video »

Alabama Shakes' Brittany Howard Covers Cream for "Joy" Soundtrack

ABKCO RecordsAlabama Shakes frontwoman Brittany Howard is featured on the soundtrack for Joy, the latest film from award-winning writer/director David O. Russell, whose credits also include Silver Linings Playbook and American Hustle. Howard covers the song "I Feel Free," originally recorded by the classic rock power-trio Cream.

Cream's version of "I Feel Free" also appears on the soundtrack, as does a song by The Rolling Stones and an instrumental cover of a Bruce Springsteen track.

"There are songs here I have been waiting almost 40 years to use in a movie," says Russell.

Joy, which opens in theaters on Christmas Day, stars Jennifer Lawrence and tells a story spanning four generations that focuses on a girl who grows up to become the matriarch of a business dynasty.  The film also features Robert De Niro, Bradley Cooper, Isabella Rossellini, Diane Ladd and Virginia Madsen, as well as Venezuelan actor Edgar Ramirez, who sings a few tunes that appear on the soundtrack.

The Joy soundtrack will be released as a digital download on December 18 and will be available as a CD on January 8. Here is the album's track list:

"I Feel Free" -- Cream
"Joy Romantic Theme" (score)
"Aguas de Marzo" -- Edgar Ramirez
"The Sidewinder" -- Lee Morgan
"I Want to Be Happy" -- Ella Fitzgerald, Chick Webb and His Orchestra
"In the Bleak Mid-Winter -- Thomas Bullard, Choir of King's College, Benjamin Bayl and Stephen Cleobury
"Notre Pere, Op. 14" -- Salzburg Bach Choir/Alois Glasser
"Mama Told Me Not to Come" -- Edgar Ramirez, Ray de la Paz & The Pedrito Martinez Band
"Something Stupid" -- Jennifer Lawrence & Edgar Ramirez
"To Love Somebody" -- Bee Gees
"I Am in Love" (score)
"Mop Drawing" (score)
"Racing in the Street" (score)
"Sleigh Ride" -- The Ronettes
"Stray Cat Blues" -- The Rolling Stones
"Texas" (score)
"Markham" (score)
"A House with Love in It" -- Nat King Cole
"Joy Theme" (score)
"I Feel Free" -- Brittany Howard
"I Feel Free" (Bonus Track) -- Brittany Howard

Copyright © 2015, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

ABC News Radio