« Lukas Graham Performing at MTV Video Music Awards Pre-Show | Main | Justin Timberlake and Jessica Biel Smile with Hillary Clinton for Photo Booth Pics »

Neil Young Reissuing Four Classic '70s Albums as Separate Vinyl LPs Next Month

Reprise RecordsFour long-out-of-print Neil Young albums -- 1973's Time Fades Away, 1974's On the Beach, and 1975's Tonight's the Night and Zuma -- will be reissued as standalone vinyl LPs on September 6.

The albums were previously released together in 2014 in a limited-edition vinyl box set, in conjunction with Record Store Day.  Each album was remastered from the original analog recordings.

Times Fades Away is a live album made up of previously unreleased material recorded during Young's tour in support of his hit 1972 album Harvest. The record, which landed at #22 on the Billboard 200, features contributions from David Crosby and Graham Nash.

On the Beach peaked at #16 on the Billboard 200 and includes such gems as "For the Turnstiles" and "Ambulance Blues."  The disc features Crosby, Crazy Horse members Billy Talbot and Ralph Molina, and The Band's Levon Helm and Rick Danko.

Tonight's the Night is Young's critically acclaimed tribute to late Crazy Horse singer/guitarist Danny Whitten and roadie Bruce Berry, who both died of drug overdoses. It album reached #25 on the Billboard 200, and features performances by Whitten, Talbot, Molina, Nils Lofgren and Jack Nitzsche.

Zuma, which also reached #25 on the Billboard chart, includes "Cortez the Killer," "Don't Cry No Tears" and "Barstool Blues." Credited to Young and Crazy Horse, it was the first album to feature longtime Crazy Horse guitarist Frank Sampedro. Crosby, Nash and Stephen Stills also lent their talents to the record.

Time Fades Away, On the Beach and Zuma have all been certified gold for sales of more than 500,000 copies in the U.S.

Copyright © 2016, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

ABC News Radio