« Scorpions cancel remainder of 2017 US tour leg with Megadeth | Main | Niall Horan beats the rest of 1D to the top of "Billboard"'s Adult Pop Songs chart »

The Moody Blues' releasing deluxe 50th anniversary edition of "Days of Future Passed" in November

UMeThe Moody Blues' classic symphonic-rock concept record, Days of Future Passed, was released 50 years ago next month. In celebration of the milestone, an expanded version of the classic record will be issued as a two-CD/DVD set on November 17.

The 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition of Days of Future Passed features two audios discs that include a restored version of the album's original 1967 mix, a 1972 mix of the record, archival BBC session recordings, alternate mixes and takes of select songs, single edits and B-sides.

The DVD, meanwhile, boasts two high-definition audio mixes of Days of Future Passed, as well as unreleased video footage of three songs The Moody Blues played at a French festival in January 1968.

The 50th anniversary set also comes packaged with a poster designed by founding member Ray Thomas.

Days of Future Passed, The Moody Blues' second album, is an original song cycle about "a day in the life," and features the group accompanied by the London Festival Orchestra. The album, which includes two of the band's most memorable songs, "Nights in White Satin" and "Tuesday Afternoon," peaked at #2 on the Billboard 200 chart, and has sold more than a million copies in the U.S.

Meanwhile, a 180-gram two-LP vinyl set featuring the restored 1967 mix of Days of Future Passed will also be released on November 17.

The Moody Blues launched a North American tour leg celebrating Days of Future Passed's 50th anniversary that ran from early June to late July. The group, just nominated for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame for the first time, has announced plans for a new U.S. leg of the trek, starting in January 2018.

Here's the track list of the album's 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition:

Disc One: CD 1
Days of Future Passed -- Original 1967 Stereo Mix:
DAWN: "Dawn Is a Feeling"
THE MORNING: "Another Morning"
LUNCH BREAK: "Peak Hour"
THE AFTERNOON: "Forever Afternoon (Tuesday?)"/"Time to Get Away"
EVENING: "The Sun Set": "Twilight Time"
THE NIGHT: "Nights in White Satin"

Bonus Tracks:
BBC Saturday Club Session
"Long Summer Days"
"Think About It"
"Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood"

BBC Easybeat Session:
"Love and Beauty"
"Leave This Man Alone"
"Peak Hour"

BBC Dave Symonds Session:
"Nights in White Satin"
"Fly Me High"
"Twilight Time"

Disc Two: CD 2
Days of Future Passed -- 1972 Stereo Mix

Bonus Tracks:
"Tuesday Afternoon" (Alternate Mix)
"Dawn: Dawn Is A Feeling" (Alternate Mix)
"The Sun Set" (Alternate Version without orchestra)
"Twilight Time" (Original vocal mix)
"I Really Haven't Got the Time" (B-side single)
"Fly Me High" (A-side single)
"Love and Beauty" (A-side single)
"Leave This Man Alone" (B-Side single)
"Nights in White Satin" (A-side single)
"Cities" (B-side single)

Disc 3: DVD
Audio Content
--5.1 Surround Sound Mix & 96kHz/24-bit 1967 stereo mix of Days of Future Passed
Visual Content
--British Gala Du MIDEM (France 1968):
"Peak Hour"
"Tuesday Afternoon"
"Nights in White Satin"

Copyright © 2017, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

ABC News Radio