« Happy 4/20: Wiz Khalifa drops new "Weed Farm" mobile game | Main | Rise Against to unleash the "Wolves" with new album »

New Roger Waters album, "Is This the Life We Really Want?," now has June release; track list unveiled

Columbia RecordsNew details have been unveiled about ex-Pink Floyd mastermind Roger Waters' upcoming studio album, Is This the Life We Really Want?, his first collection of new rock songs since 1992's Amused to Death. According to the announcement, the album's release date has been moved from May 19 to June 2, while its full 12-song track list has been revealed.

Is This The Life We Really Want? will be available for pre-order starting Friday, April 21. The album will be issued as a two-disc, 180-gram vinyl LP, a CD housed in a four-panel pack, and a digital download.

Is This The Life We Really Want? features Waters' reflections on the modern world, and is described as "a natural successor" to such memorable Pink Floyd albums as The Wall and Animals.

The record was produced and mixed by Nigel Godrich, who previously has worked with Radiohead, Paul McCartney, U2 and Beck. Among the musicians who contributed to the album are one-time R.E.M. drummer Joey Waronker, ex-Jellyfish keyboardist Roger Manning and multi-instrumentalist Jonathan Wilson. In addition, singers Jess Wolfe and Holly Laessig of the indie-pop group Lucius lent their vocal talents to the project.

As previously reported, Waters will support the new album with a lengthy U.S. trek called the Us + Them Tour, which kicks off May 26 in Kansas City, Missouri, and runs through an October 28 concert in Vancouver, Canada.

Here's the full track list for Is This The Life We Really Want?:

"When We Were Young"
"Déjà Vu"
"The Last Refugee"
"Picture That"
"Broken Bones"
"Is This the Life We Really Want?"
"Bird in a Gale"
"The Most Beautiful Girl"
"Smell the Roses"
"Wait for Her"
"Oceans Apart"
"Part of Me Died"

Copyright © 2017, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

ABC News Radio