« New Roger Waters album, "Is This the Life We Really Want?," now has June release; track list unveiled | Main | Blondie takes us on a rapturous ride through New York in video for new single, "Long Time" »

Rise Against to unleash the "Wolves" with new album

Virgin RecordsRise Against has announced the details of their next album. The eighth studio effort from the Chicago rockers is called Wolves, due out June 9.

For a preview of Wolves, you can listen to the album's lead single "The Violence," which is streaming now on YouTube.

Rise Against will be on the road this summer in support of Wolves on a co-headlining tour with Deftones, which kicks off June 9 in Chicago. In the next week, the band will be playing intimate shows at the House of Vans Chicago and House of Vans Brooklyn, held April 21 and April 24, respectively. You can register for your chance at free tickets to the House of Vans shows now via

"In many ways, a Rise Against show is a safe space for our fans," frontman Tim McIlrath says in a statement. "But I realized that I don't only want to create safe spaces, I want to create dangerous spaces where misogyny can't exist, where xenophobia can't exist."

"I want to create spaces where those sentiments don't have any air, and they suffocate: where those ideas die," he continues. "Wolves isn't about creating a safe space, it's about creating a space that's dangerous for injustice."

Here's the Wolves track list:

"House on Fire"
"The Violence"
"Welcome to the Breakdown"
"Far From Perfect"
"Politics of Love"
"Parts Per Million"
"Mourning in Amerika"
"How Many Walls"

Copyright © 2017, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

ABC News Radio