« "American Idol" contestant clarifies his response to Katy Perry's kiss: "I do not think I was sexually harassed" | Main | Arcade Fire sells out in "Money + Love" video »

Roger Daltrey's new solo album, "As Long as I Have You," arriving on June 1; listen to title track now


Roger Daltrey recently revealed to ABC Radio that he'll be releasing a new soul-inspired solo album called As Long as I Have You in June, and now the Who frontman has announced full official details about the project.

The 12-track collection, which will hit stores on June 1, includes 10 covers and two new original Daltrey compositions: "Certified Rose" and "Always Heading Home."

The Who's Pete Townshend played guitar on seven of the songs, while former Style Council keyboardist Mick Talbot and veteran session guitarist Sean Genockey also contributed to the record.

"This is a return to the very beginning, to the time before Pete started writing our songs, to a time when we were a teenage band playing soul music to small crowds in church halls," Daltrey explains of the album. "That's what we were, a soul band. And now, I can sing soul with all the experience you need to sing it. Life puts the soul in."

The album's title track and lead song is a rendition of 1964 tune recorded by Garnet Mimms and written by Jerry Ragavoy and Ben Elgin. Other covers on the record include versions of Stevie Wonder's "You Haven't Done Nothing" and Joe Tex's "The Love You Save."

Beyond the vintage soul material, Roger also has included his takes on Nick Cave's "Into Your Arms" and Stephen Stills' "How Far."

As Long as I Have You is available for pre-order now on CD, as a black-vinyl and limited-edition red-vinyl LP and digitally. Fans buying an advance copy of the album will receive an immediate free download of the title track. You also can listen to the song at Daltrey's official VEVO YouTube channel.

Here is the full track list of As Long as I Have You:

"As Long as I Have You"
"How Far"
"Where Is a Man to Go?"
"Get On Out of the Rain"
"I've Got Your Love"
"Into My Arms"
"You Haven't Done Nothing"
"Out of Sight, Out of Mind"
"Certified Rose"
"The Love You Save"
"Always Heading Home"

Copyright © 2018, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

ABC News Radio