« "It's not a threat, it's a warning": Cardi B cautions Offset on new single, "Be Careful" | Main | The Chainsmokers share some "Memories" in new documentary series »

Richie Sambora and girlfriend Orianthi releasing debut album, "Radio Free America," in May

BMGAfter putting out a series of singles and EPs over the last six months, ex-Bon Jovi guitarist Richie Sambora and his girlfriend, Australian guitar whiz Orianthi, have announced plans to release their debut album, Radio Free America, on May 11.

The duo, who also are known as RSO, recorded most of the 15-track collection over the last two years at their home in L.A. with veteran producer and songwriter Bob Rock. Sambora and Orianthi explore a wide variety of genres on the album, including rock, blues, pop, R&B and country.

"I think these songs are about just being human," explains Sambora. "People have more in common with each other than they think. Ori and I have had the chance to see that up close, in front of millions of people around the world, for many years."

He adds, "It's ingrained in us as songwriters, that desire to transcend language and genre, to play for people, entertain them, and write songs that can be the soundtrack to their lives."

The album gathers together all of the duo's previously-released digital singles -- which appeared on their two 2017 EPs, Rise and Making History -- and adds a couple more tunes.

People who preorder Radio Free America now will receive an instant free download of the track "One Night of Peace," which initially was released as a holiday single in December.

In other news, RSO will perform at the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in Cleveland on Saturday, April 7, at the free Celebration Day event being held as part of the festivities leading up to the 2018 Rock Hall induction ceremony on April 14. Sambora will be inducted into the Hall this year as a member of Bon Jovi.

Here's the full Radio Free America track list:

"Making History"
"We Are Magic"
"Take Me"
"Walk with Me"
"I Don't Wanna Have to Need You Now"
"Together On the Outside"
"Good Times"
"Forever All the Way"
"I Got You Babe"
"One Night of Peace" (Modern Mix)
"Blues Won't Leave Me Alone"
"Hellbound Train"

Copyright © 2018, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

ABC News Radio