« Watch The Glorious Sons rock Toronto in "S.O.S (Sawed Off Shotgun)" video | Main | Vampire Weekend planning to release double album; new music dropping next week »

Double Trouble keyboardist Reese Wynans' debut album to feature Sam Moore, ex-Allman Brothers members & more

J&R AdventuresVeteran blues-rock keyboardist Reese Wynans, who was inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in 2015 as a member of Stevie Ray Vaughan's band Double Trouble, will put out his debut solo album, Sweet Release, on March 1.

The album was produced by acclaimed blues guitarist Joe Bonamassa, who plays on five of the record's 13 tracks. Sweet Release also features contributions from soul legend Sam Moore, Double Trouble's drummer Chris Layton and bassist Tommy Shannon and former Allman Brothers Band guitarists Warren Haynes and Jack Pearson -- plus Bonnie Bramlett, Kenny Wayne Shepherd, Eagles member Vince Gill and Wet Willie frontman Jimmy Hall.

Sweet Release includes covers by artists who inspired or worked with the 71-year-old Wynans over the course of his 50-year career. The title track is a 1969 song by Boz Scaggs, and the album also features four tunes previously recorded by Vaughan and Double Trouble: "Crossfire," "Say What," "Hard to Be" and "Riviera Paradise."

"I've never had an album out with my name on it before, so I'm very excited," Wynans notes. "I'd like this record to make people feel happy and celebrate the music. Because that's what we were doing."

Sweet Release's lead track is Winans' rendition of "Crossfire," which features Moore on lead vocals. The original song topped Billboard's rock chart in 1989. Fans can access a free download of the tune now at and

Wynans' many career highlights include playing with founding Allman Brothers members Dickey Betts and Berry Oakley on the late-'60s band The Second Coming, playing in the group Captain Beyond with ex-Deep Purple singer Rod Evans and contributing to three Carole King albums.

You can check out a behind-the-scenes video about the making of Sweet Release at Bonamassa's official YouTube channel.

Here's the album's track list:

"Say What"
"That Driving Beat"
"You're Killing My Love"
"Sweet Release"
"Shape I'm In"
"Hard to Be"
"Riviera Paradise"
"Take the Time"
"So Much Trouble"
"I've Got the Right to Be Blue"
"Soul Island"

Copyright © 2019, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

ABC News Radio