« New David Crosby doc gets July theatrical premiere; Crosby hired as "Rolling Stone" advice columnist | Main | Thanks to the late Johnny Cash, Sheryl Crow says "Redemption Day" has finally arrived »

Eagles of Death Metal's Jesse Hughes announces new covers album, "The Best Songs We Never Wrote"

Scott Dudelson/Getty ImagesEagles of Death Metal frontman Jesse "Boots Electric" Hughes has announced a new covers album, which will be released June 7.

The collection, officially titled Eagles Of Death Metal Presents Boots Electric Performing the Best Songs We Never Wrote, features Hughes takes on rock classics including Guns N' Roses' "It's So Easy," David Bowie's "Moonage Daydream," KISS' "God of Thunder" and AC/DC's "High Voltage/It's a Long Way to the Top (If You Wanna Rock 'N' Roll)."

He also pays tribute to his sometime EoDM band mate Josh Homme with a cover of Queens of the Stone Age's "Long Slow Goodbye."

Other covers on the album venture into pop and R&B territory, including George Michael's "Careless Whisper" and Mary J. Blige's "Family Affair." You can download the "Family Affair" cover now via digital outlets.

Eagles of Death Metal's most recent album is 2015's Zipper Down.

Here's the track list The Best Songs We Never Wrote:

"God of Thunder" (original by KISS)
"It’s So Easy" (original by Guns N’ Roses)
"High Voltage/It’s a Long Way to the Top" (If You Wanna Rock ‘N’ Roll)" (originals by AC/DC)
"So Alive" (original by Love & Rockets)
"Beat on the Brat" (original by the Ramones)
"Abracadabra" (original by Steve Miller Band)
"Careless Whisper" (original by George Michael)
"Family Affair" (original by Mary J. Blige)
"The Hunger" (original by The Distillers)
"Long Slow Goodbye" (original by Queens of the Stone Age)
"Just Dropped In" (To See What Condition My Condition Is In)" (original by Kenny Rogers & The First Edition)
"Trouble" (original by Cat Stevens)
"Moonage Daydream" (original by David Bowie)

Copyright © 2019, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

ABC News Radio