« The Cranberries come to a close by going back to the beginning with new album, "In the End" | Main | Collective Soul announces new album, "Blood"; listen to single "Right as Rain" now »

Neil Young, Stephen Stills, Eric Clapton featured on soundtrack of "Echo in the Canyon" documentary

BMGNeil Young, Stephen Stills and Eric Clapton are featured on songs that appear on the soundtrack to Echo in the Canyon, a new documentary that focuses on the influential music scene that developed in Los Angeles' Laurel Canyon in the mid-to-late 1960s.

The album, which will be released on May 24, features new versions of songs by groups associated with the Laurel Canyon scene -- like The Byrds, Buffalo Springfield, The Mamas & the Papas and The Beach Boys -- recorded by Young, Stills and Clapton.

Young contributes to covers of The Beach Boys' "I Just Wasn't Made for These Times" and The Byrds' "What's Happening," while Stills and Clapton trade guitar licks on a rendition of the Buffalo Springfield song "Questions," which Stephen wrote.

Younger artists like Jakob Dylan, Beck, Norah Jones, Fiona Apple, Cat Power and Regina Spektor are also included on the soundtrack.

Echo in the Canyon was executive-produced by Jakob Dylan, who spearheaded the recording sessions and also conducts interviews throughout the film with Stills, Clapton, the late Tom Petty, Ringo Starr, Brian Wilson, David Crosby, Graham Nash, The Byrds' Roger McGuinn, The Mamas & the Papas' Michelle Phillips and John Sebastian, among others.

In addition, Jakob is shown chatting with Beck, Jones, Power and Spektor about the influence those bands had on them.

The movie also features in-studio footage of the various songs being recorded, as well as live performances of the tunes captured at a 2015 L.A. concert staged in conjunction with the movie.

Echo in the Canyon will get premiere theatrical screenings in L.A. on May 24 and New York City on May 31 before receiving a wider release in June.

Here's the full track list of the Echo in the Canyon soundtrack:

"Go Where You Wanna Go" -- featuring Jade Castrinos
"The Bells of Rhymney" -- featuring Beck
"You Showed Me" -- featuring Cat Power
"She" -- featuring Josh Homme
"In My Room" -- featuring Fiona Apple
"Goin' Back" -- featuring Beck
"Never My Love" -- featuring Norah Jones
"It Won't Be Wrong" -- featuring Fiona Apple
"No Matter What You Do" -- featuring Regina Spektor
"Questions" -- featuring Jakob Dylan, Stephen Stills
"I Just Wasn't Made for These Times" -- featuring Neil Young
"Expecting to Fly" -- featuring Regina Spektor
"What's Happening" -- featuring Neil Young

Copyright © 2019, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

ABC News Radio