« #NewMusicFriday: Snoop Dogg drops off 'I Wanna Thank Me,' Young Thug's debut is 'So Much Fun', A$AP Ferg has 'Floor Seats' and Quality Control presents 'Control the Streets Vol. 2' | Main | NeNe Leakes says she battled with depression during her husband Gregg's cancer battle »

Listen to Robbie Robertson's new John Lennon-inspired song "Let Love Reign," featuring Glen Hansard

UMeEx-Band guitarist Robbie Robertson has debuted a second song from his forthcoming studio album, Sinematic, which will be released on September 20. "Let Love Reign" is a swampy, soulful tune featuring guest backing vocals by Glen Hansard of The Frames and The Swell Season.

With the song, Robertson carries on John Lennon's call for global peace -- at one point referencing the late Beatles legend by name -- while decrying the troubles facing the world today.

"Some people think John Lennon's dream about love and togetherness went up in flames," Robbie says. "I think that's wrong. It's everlasting. There was something a little naive about John Lennon going around singing about peace, but in that period young people celebrating love and peace helped end a war."

"Let Love Reign" is available now as a digital single and via streaming services, and you also can check out the track on YouTube. Fans who pre-order Sinematic also will receive a free download of the track.

As previously reported, Sinematic is a 13-track collection that includes songs connected with, or inspired by, two upcoming projects involving Robertson: the documentary Once Were Brothers: Robbie Robertson and The Band; and Martin Scorsese's biographical crime epic The Irishman.

The first song from the album Robertson released was the lead track, a duet with Van Morrison titled "I Hear You Paint Houses." The tune is drawn from The Irishman and the book on which it's based, I Heard You Paint Houses, whose title is a phrase mobsters use when hiring a hit man.

Sinematic will be available on CD, as a 180-gram-vinyl two-LP set and digitally. A Deluxe Edition featuring the CD, the LPs and a 36-page hardcover book of artwork Robertson created for each track, will be released on October 25.

Copyright © 2019, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

ABC News Radio