Entries in Election Results (1)


At Last: Alaska Certifies Senate Election Results

Photo Courtesy - Getty Images(ANCHORAGE, Alaska) -- After a nearly two-month struggle that saw former candidate Joe Miller challenge the validity of midterm election results naming Republican Lisa Murkowski Alaska senator, Governor Sean Parnell and Lieutenant Governor Mead Treadwell signed paperwork Thursday certifying Murkowski as the winner. The final vote count left Murkowski with 101,091 votes and Miller with 90,839 votes.

"The courts have now allowed us to carry out the will of the people," Lt. Governor Treadwell said.  "We congratulate Senator Murkowski on her historic victory, and all candidates for their earnest efforts."

The documents certifying Senator Murkowski's victory will be filed before the Jan. 3 deadline in Washington, D.C.

Copyright 2010 ABC News Radio

ABC News Radio