Entries in Leadership (1)


Democrats, GOP Vote on New Senate Leadership Teams

Photo Courtesy - ABC News(WASHINGTON) -- On Tuesday, the Senate focused on the next Congress, not the current one, with both parties electing their leadership teams, while Republicans are also voting on an earmark moratorium. The moratorium is expected to cruise to passage when GOP senators meet later Tuesday, but the earlier session was all about leadership – and there were no surprises in store for the 112th Congress.

That means Republicans will still have Kentucky’s Mitch McConnell at the helm, with Arizona’s Jon Kyl at number two, and Tennessee’s Lamar Alexander in the number three slot. South Dakota’s John Thune and Wyoming’s John Barrasso will continue to round out the GOP team.

Across the aisle the Democrats, who have retained the majority in the Senate, albeit one reduced by six seats, will also retain their leadership team. As expected, Nevada’s Harry Reid will stay on majority leader, Illinois’ Dick Durbin as number-two, New York’s Chuck Schumer as number-three, and Washington’s Patty Murray at number-four. Michigan’s Debbie Stabenow and newly-promoted Mark Begich of Alaska will fill the remaining slots.

Copyright 2010 ABC News Radio

ABC News Radio