« Miami Marlins Welcome Heath Bell | Main | Bears Confirm Forte Injury »

Heisman Trophy Finalists Announced

Sarah Glenn/Getty Images(NEW YORK) -- Wisconsin running back Monte Ball, Baylor quarterback Robert Griffin III, Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck, LSU cornerback Tyrann Mathieu and Alabama running back Trent Richardson were announced Monday as the finalists for this year’s Heisman Trophy award.

1995 Heisman Trophy winner and former Ohio State running back Eddie George likes Griffin to take home the trophy.

“Tremendous ballplayer,” George said. “Had signature wins against Oklahoma, Texas, TCU. Blown away by his performances; even in his losses, he was great.”

Griffin has tossed for nearly 4,000 yards and 36 touchdowns this season while rushing for 644 yards and nine TDs.

The winner will be announced Saturday night in New York.

Copyright 2011 ABC News Radio

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <code> <em> <i> <strike> <strong>

ABC News Radio