« Bengals Roll Past Browns, 40-21 | Main | (1) Alabama Defeats Mississippi St., 20-7 »

Jimmie Johnson Wins Sixth Sprint Cup Title

Chris Graythen/NASCAR via Getty Images(HOMESTEAD, Fla.) -- Jimmie Johnson took home his sixth Sprint Cup championship on Sunday after finishing in ninth at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

Johnson came into Sunday 28 points up on Matt Kenseth and held a 34 point edge on Kevin Harvick.

Denny Hamlin won the race and was followed by Kenseth, who fell 19 points away from the title.

Johnson's sixth title puts him behind Richard Petty and Dale Earnhardt.

This is Johnson's first Sprint Cup title since 2010 and his Hendrick Motorsports team's 11th championship.

Copyright 2013 ABC News Radio

ABC News Radio