« Orioles Lose Manny Machado for the Season | Main | Jets Name Geno Smith the Starting Quarterback »

Team USA Final Roster Announced

Ronald Martinez/Getty Images(NEW YORK) -- After a thorough evaluation process, USA Basketball has finalized its roster for the FIBA World Cup in Spain.

USAB announced its final 12-man squad for Spain in a 1 a.m. ET news release. They decided to drop Damian Lillard, Chandler Parsons, Kyle Korver, and Gordon Hayward.

"Since taking over the USA Basketball men's national team program in 2005, this was without doubt the most difficult selection process we've gone through," USAB chairman Jerry Colangelo said in a statement. "I can't stress enough the outstanding effort and commitment that has been given by each finalist. I also want to make it clear that this is not just about talent; each player is incredibly talented and each player offered us unique skills. In the end it was about assembling the best team, selecting guys who we felt would be able to best play the kind of style we envision this team playing."

The final roster is: DeMar DeRozan, Andre Drummond, Kyrie Irving, Stephen Curry, James Harden, Kenneth Farried, Anthony Davis, Derrick Rose, DeMarcus Cousins, Klay Thompson, Rudy Gay, and Mason Plumlee.

Copyright 2014 ABC News Radio 

ABC News Radio