« Reports: Andre Iguodala to Opt Out of Contract | Main | Abby Wambach Scores, U.S. Defeats South Korea, 4-1 »

Washington Capitals F Alex Ovechkin Wins NHL MVP Award

G Fiume/Getty Images(CHICAGO) -- Washington Capitals forward Alex Ovechkin edged Pittsburgh Penguins center Sidney Crosby and New York Islanders center John Tavares Saturday night to win his second consecutive Hart Trophy.  It’s the third time Ovechkin has won the league’s MVP award.

The 27-year old Ovechkin lead the league during the regular season with 32 goals while contributing 24 assists for 56 points in 48 games.

Ovechkin joins Gordie Howe, Mario Lemieux, Wayne Gretzky, Bobby Clarke, Eddie Shore, Howie Morenz and Bobby Orr as the only players to win the Hart Trophy three times or more.

Copyright 2013 ABC News Radio

ABC News Radio