« Cam Newton Debuts in Preseason Win | Main | Rockies Sweep Doubleheader with Reds in Dramatic Fashion »

Will Power Wins at Milwaukee

Nick Laham/Getty Images(WEST ALLIS, Wisc.) -- Will Power increased his very slim margin in the IndyCar standings with his third trip to victory lane this season. Power led 229 laps in the ABC Supply Wisconsin 250, and pulled away late to pick up the win.

The victory gives Power a 39-point lead over teammate Helio Castraneves with just two more races remaining in the year. It was the third career victory on an oval track for Power as Juan Pablo Montoya finished second and Tony Kanaan took third. 

"We're a well-oiled machine right now with all three cars," Power said about the victory. "If we have a couple more days like this, of course, it's going to be a great finish."

For the third time in his career, Power sits atop the points standings during the final three races of the season. In 2010 and 2012, the 33-year-old sputtered down the stretch and missed out on claiming his first career championship.

Copyright 2014 ABC News Radio

ABC News Radio